Tea with the Muse
Tea with the Muse
Is consciousness a choice?
2
0:00
-22:00

Is consciousness a choice?

My first encounter with consciousness + relationship to suffering + how can we become more awake?
2

Good morning from California ~ Today I am thinking of you. I am also preparing for a glorious weekend with 13 women from around the world who are here in Sonoma for a workshop. I have been thinking a lot about conscious choice, as I loook around and see so much ‘unconsciousness’ around us. When I share these explorations with you, I hope they inspire you to think, and to act and to come into being in your own way.

This painting is called, You Bring Water for My Creatures and I started it during a private session with a beloved client where we paint intuitively. It was for Jonathan, my dear husband and partner in life.

In this podcast I talk about things like…

  • the first time I encountered consciousness

  • awareness as a conscious choice and not a default setting

  • how we don’t always use ‘sub-consciousness’ in our community and what we say instead to link to imagination

  • unconscious behaviour according to my two moms ( racism, sexism, capitalism)

  • my mother’s only two rules and how she let me change my name

  • a movie that was life-changing for me (Warrior Marks) and how it informed my work in Intentional Creativity

  • a very sad wedding I attended and how it connects with suffering

  • an invitation to see self-expression as a way to work with coming into being

So getta cuppa tea with the Muse and dive in. Listen as you walk. Listen as you paint. Listen as you do yoga. Listen in the tub. Listen while looking at the sky.

With love,

Shiloh Sophia

If you want to join us to explore our approach - here they are:

Consciousness Raising Experiences

p.s. I have heard that substack is reaching out to our subscribers without asking us first, to invite you to pay. I understand they need to cover their bases too but I don’t love that we aren’t given the choice of when and who. You are more than welcome to contribute if you find value in my sharings - but it is NOT required and I haven’t sent a single email asking you to pay for Tea with the Muse.

Leave a comment

2 Comments
Tea with the Muse
Tea with the Muse
Encouraging stories, images, poetry, inquiries and dares from the Muse at Intentional Creativity®